Knowledgebase
How do I upgrade the latest version of RollBack Rx from a previous version? eg. v9.x to v10.x
Posted by on 27 Sep 2013

The process of installing an upgrade to a newer version of RollBack Rx 
All updates/upgrades etc require a complete uninstall of any previous version of RollBack Rx. When you perform the uninstall, you will need to select a single snapshot (system configuration) that you would like your PC to be in when RollBack Rx is completely removed (final state). Therefore, all of your previous snapshots will be deleted. This is an important step and can not be undone - so select your uninstall snapshot carefully.

Why is it difficult to update RollBack Rx clients without losing snapshots?
The reason for this is that is RollBack Rx does not simply update a definition file - as with Anti-virus and anti-spyware applications. Instead the entire RollBack Rx "engine" needs to be updated. Therefore, we need to remove the previous version of RollBack Rx prior to installing any update or newer version of RollBack Rx.After you have removed your previous version of Rollback, you may proceed with your installation.

Uninstall From Windows
You can remove RollBack Rx from your computer through one of the two options provided in Windows:

  1. Uninstall RollBack Rx from Control Panel -> Uninstall a Program
  2. Uninstall RollBack Rx from Start -> All Programs -> Rollback Rx -> Uninstall

The uninstaller will prompt you to select a snapshot to uninstall the system to. You can choose to keep the current system and data or return the computer to another snapshot during uninstall. The snapshot selected here will be the final state of the PC after uninstalling Rollback Rx.

Uninstall From RollBack Rx from Sub-Console
During the splash screen of the RollBack Rx, press the "HOME" key to access the sub-console. (Note: This key might different if the user has changed in the RollBack Rx settings).
Once you have accessed the sub-console, there will be an option to uninstall the RollBack Rx.

The uninstaller will prompt you to select a snapshot to uninstall the system to. You can choose to keep the current system and data or return the computer to another snapshot during uninstall. The snapshot selected here will be the final state of the PC after uninstalling Rollback Rx.

Note: To Uninstall From RollBack Rx Sub-Console should be the last resort for uninstallation process. Please consult Horizon Datasys technical support before uninstalling.

Note: Once you uninstall RollBack Rx, you will lose all snapshots and your system will return to a Windows based system without RollBack Rx.  You will not be able to "rollback" as the RollBack Rx application would be removed.  Be sure to select the final snapshot carefully as this action cannot be reversed

If you have problem with your computer, DO NOT attempt to uninstall Rollback Rx first. Rollback the system to a good snapshot might fix the problem. If you have problem to access either Rollback Rx Application Console or Subsystem Console to perform a rollback, contact Horizon Datasys technical support before attempting to uninstall Rollback Rx.  -> "Submit a Ticket"

 

(8 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)